• Want to take part in this year's BoS Trials event for Maths and/or Business Studies?
    Click here for details and register now!
  • YOU can help the next generation of students in the community!
    Share your trial papers and notes on our Notes & Resources page

architecture vs. civil engineering (1 Viewer)

daman

HSC
i cant seem to decide between the two. i've read all the course descriptions and spoken to all the academics and still the two courses seem too good to differentiate between. like they both appeal to my tastes.

ive put engineering as my first preference however i always wanted to be an architecture and recently ive been watching this show on tv, "property ladder" on the lifestyle channel (kickass show), and now im leaning towards property development.

the thing i didnt like about architecture was the artistic side of it like the dandy drawing stuff because i aint good at it and i dont enjoy things im not good at

the thing i like about civil engineering was the planning/development of large urban areas

just in case i live my life in regret of not taking up architecture i was wondering if i could hear the students opinions on their courses

so finally: what are the good and bad points of civil engineering and architecture?

elfm

HSC
be prepared for a lot of calculating and number work if you end up doing civil engineering. I'm finding the course pretty cool so far, but I've only just finished 1st year.

Architects basically get all the credit for everything, while civil engineers have to do all the hard work :p

probably the good thing with civil engineering is that you can major is several different streams of civil engineering. one you might be interested in is project/construction management

civil engineering is also in very high demand in australia and throughout the world, but i don't know much about architecture. starting pay is about 45k

edit: have you looked at B. Planning? It looks like it would suit your interests well

Numero Uno