Economics Pre-Honours/Honours (1 Viewer)

elkedag

elkemaand
HSC
I'm doing LLB/Comm and I'm thinking about doing economics honours. If I were to do economics honours, I would do that in my 6th year, although I'm not certain as to whether I would do economics honours - I probably won't if I do well enough in 4th/5th year law. And to do all the units to fulfill pre-honours requirements, I will have no flexibility in my progression.

Would I be disadvantaged by choosing pre-honours units over non-pre-honours units in terms of my marks? Or do they compensate for this in the marking so that pre-honours students are no worse off for choosing those units?

And if anyone has any experiences with econ honours, would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

JasonG123

HSC
Uni Grad
Late reply, but I'm studying a BEc/LLB in my third year and have gone through the pre-Honours stream so I can help:

I'm doing LLB/Comm and I'm thinking about doing economics honours. If I were to do economics honours, I would do that in my 6th year, although I'm not certain as to whether I would do economics honours - I probably won't if I do well enough in 4th/5th year law. And to do all the units to fulfill pre-honours requirements, I will have no flexibility in my progression.
You could do Honours in the 6th year, however it would be much better if you did it in your fourth year because it helps to go through Honours with your own cohort. In any case, your marks in 4th/5th year law will be irrelevant to your entry to Economics Honours even if you do it in your sixth year.

If you do pre-Honours then unfortunately you will have absolutely no flexibility in your progression (I think you'll get 0 electives). Switching to a BEc/LLB will give you a little flexibility since you avoid 4 core Commerce subjects, but there are some inherent advantages to being in the Business School.