How do you challenge your prejudices? (1 Viewer)

dagwoman

Welcome to My Lair
HSC
N/A
I know most people don't like to think of themselves as racist/sexist/homophobic, but the truth is, everyone has some forms of prejudices, sometimes it's more explicit that others (and some people more than others, obviously). What I want to know is, how do you challenge your own bigotry when you're aware of it? Do you ignore it? Do you question it? Do you try to justify it?

Discuss! :)

jb_nc

Google "9-11" and "truth"
HSC
N/A
I know I'm right :cool:

Serius

Beyond Godlike
HSC
ncap? meh anyway, one that ive been challenging for a few years is treating homosexuals different to everyone else. Ive always believed they have a right to their sexuality and basically everything else, but its been hard to overcome social stigmas that ive probably had since i was a kid. Its hard to completely ignore, or maybe just completely accept that someone else is different, and its hard to stop seeing them as gay, and start seeing that as just a small part of who they are.

Ive been challenging it by making friends with gays, going to a few gay clubs and so on. I think iam pretty close to complete acceptance and understanding. Now, instead of the whole gay thing and their rights been an intelectual thing [ i.e me intelectualising that they are just like everyone else so they shouldnt be harassed] i genuinely feel it. Pretty hard thing to overcome when my family is homophobic and ive been raised in that environment, but also society as a whole sees being gay as a bad thing.

iamsickofyear12

HSC
dagwoman said:
I know most people don't like to think of themselves as racist/sexist/homophobic, but the truth is, everyone has some forms of prejudices, sometimes it's more explicit that others (and some people more than others, obviously). What I want to know is, how do you challenge your own bigotry when you're aware of it? Do you ignore it? Do you question it? Do you try to justify it?

Discuss! :)