I failed first year 12 assessment task...? (1 Viewer)

Mello321

HSC
I got my marks back for the first assessment task of year 12. it was a mathematics test weighing 15% and i did worse than i thought i would with only 43%. :/ I'm quite disappointed, i guess the stress and pressure to do well in the first exam got to me. I'd say throughout year 11 i was relatively good at maths averaging in the 70% range and i was ranked 11/36. Now my ranking has dropped to 21/36 after this first test. Ive been told by many people in my year that with every assessment task, half of its weighting would actually count towards the HSC so apparently this test is worth 7.5% towards the HSC for maths. Is this true? If this is true does that mean i can bounce back and bring my ranking up again? Sorry guys... i need some reassurance...

Flop21

HSC
Hey, I'm not an expert and other people will probably be able to tell you how much exactly it counts for.

But that's definitely not a lot, and I would say you can definitely 'bounce back'.

Also you're rank didn't drop too much, and there's still a lot of people who did worse than you - it looks like so there's that.

Don't worry, I know a lot of people screw up their first assessments and they still do well in the HSC.

cem

Premium Member
HSC
N/A
Yes you can 'jump back up' but remember that others are also stepping up in Year 12.

Yes it does count 7.5% because 50% of the final HSC mark comes from the assessment mark sent in by the school which is determined by your assessment tasks.

Some years ago I had a student who was ranked 17th after the first assessment task out of 17. He ended up coming 1st.

photastic

HSC
If you failed a task, the chances of obtaining top ranks drastically decreases since everyone including the smart ones get better during the year. Your still average so definitely there are chances to improve.

harvey1997

HSC
N/A
dont worry!
i actually failed my first maths assessment too!