Melbourne JD vs UNSW JD (1 Viewer)

Which law school should I accept?

• Total voters

dishameh

HSC
I am an international student and I have received offers from UMelb and UNSW in their JD programs.

UNSW has offered me 36 credits for my previous study, which means that I will be saving about 8 months and $20,000 if I go to UNSW as opposed to UMelb. My goal after JD is to be placed in Australia. Since I am not sure what my PR status would be at that point (I have not applied yet), it would imperative for me to find an employer that will sponsor my work visa.

I am already paying very high fees as an international student. So I am wondering UMelb is worth paying the 20k more, in terms of job prospects.

Moreover, I believe that it is more important to be a better performer at your law school than to simply go to the top law school (i.e. going to UMelb will not simply convert into a placement.) I also feel that it might be very competitive for me to perform well at UMelb, but I don't know how competitive UNSW would be. Can anyone throw some light on how the teaching and grading styles are at both the places?

In light of all these considerations, which law school should I choose?

strawberrye

Premium Member
HSC
Uni Grad