Microbiology or Immunology and Pathology at USYD? (1 Viewer)

shiftincognito

HSC
Hi,

So I'm currently enrolling at USYD and am stuck choosing between a major in Microbiology or a major in Immunology and Pathology? I really enjoyed the Search for Better Health topic in biology and I thought that one of those two majors would be good. However, I don't really intend to go into Medical School and spend extra years to become an immunologist so would doing the Immunology and Pathology major be useless? Does anyone currently studing this know if there is anything that I could go into besides further education?

On the otherhand do I need to go into further education to become a microbiologist? And could I possibly get into environmental remediation or conseration with a microbiology major?

Thanks

amloe1

HSC
Hey,

So since no one has answered you in almost a year, I'll try help! (I'm not an Immunology student, but I have had a lot of experience interviewing successful Immunologists and Researchers - for example, you can have a look at my interview with Sir Gustav Nossal here)

Firstly, you could not have chosen a better university to pursue this field. Sir Nossal studied at USYD, as did many other prominent researchers and physicians.

Secondly, regardless of whether you want to attend medical school or not, majoring in something you are interested in will mean:
a) you will get better marks as the content will be more engaging
b) it won't feel like you have to force yourself to study
c) people will see that you are passionate about your field, and will be more likely to engage you.