Opinions on continuing Commerce/Arts or transferring into straight Commerce Degree (1 Viewer)

tyzzefloro

HSC
Im currently studying Commerce/ Arts (first year) and recently have an option to transfer into straight commerce.

My majors would either be Human Resource Management and Theatre and Performance studies.

OR

If i changed my program to straight commerce it would be Human Resource Management with either Management or Marketing.

Still unsure if i should keep arts as it is not fruitful for my future in HR and a business environment.

And with the whole theatre and performance major in arts, I was thinking of possibly just getting really involved in the theatre society instead and list that in my extra currics on my resume to show my interest in acting.

Opinions on what I should do/ what you would do?? Aside note my mum thinks i should focus on commerce (hater of arts.)

Cleavage

Clarence
HSC
Uni Grad
Re: Opinions on continuing Commerce/Arts or transferring into straight Commerce Degre

99.95% sure I know you irl (and you'll probably work out who i am).

TBH you can also pursue your passions outside the societies within UNSW. Go to a play; i dunno, but I'm sure there are lots of ways you can get involved with the theatre life in Sydney without relating it to a university society, or a degree.

I don't believe this whole "you need to study a degree to pursue a non-academic field", you can study a degree related to the work you're interested in AND maintain those interests (particularly for creative arts pursuits).

Asian mum is always going to want you to drop arts, imo don't listen to her (with the greatest respect).

Summary; Drop the arts, focus on commerce, extend your degree a year to incorporate two majors (you do need to do this to fit in two majors right?). Enjoy your majors, keep up with theatre stuff within the relevant UNSW societies and elsewhere, and most of all, enjoy your added job prospects as a result of dual business majors.

Shadowdude