Question about 3U Maths (1 Viewer)

Stan..

HSC
Hi,

I am a newb in this forum and I have a few questions about 3U Maths in year 11.

- Is 4u in year 12 infinately harder than 3u in year 11?
- Can anyone with motivation do 4u or is it a select few?
- Its 3u maths like advanced maths in year 10?

thanks in advance

lala2

Banned
HSC
Hi, I'm trialling 4U Maths in Year 11/12, so can't answer your first two questions (with the second one, I mean, people who will actually stay to complete the course). With teh third question, 3U is not 'just' like Advanced, but yes, a lot of skills learnt in the Advanced course will carry over into 3U. If you're dubious, try out for a term, and you can always drop to 2U if you're struggling. Things like co-ordinate geometry and trigonometry are basic 2U work, so if you find topics like those easy, you're definitely a candidate for 3U.

If you want more answers, perhaps post on the Maths Extension 1 forum or post on the Year 11 forum for people like me crossing over into Year 12.

Good luck!

ur_inner_child

.%$^!@&^#(*!?.%$^?!.
HSC
You're going waaaaay ahead of yourself!

Try doing 3unit maths. Try EVERYTHING!!! That way you can drop stuff etc, and by the end of year 11, if you've kept 3unit maths, your teacher as well as your own intuition will tell you whether 4unit is good for you.

As personal experience, Advanced maths in year 10 was different from Year 11 3unit. It's a build up, like year 8 was for year 9 etc.

but yeah the best advice: try it out!
if you regret it, you can drop it!

EDIT: motivation will always take you places :)

Stan..

HSC
Thanks for all response,
I thought i should clarify my second question,
What I am trying to get at is, Is 4u in year 12 ONLY a good choice if you have got consistant 90s all throught school 7-10 inclusive. Or someone like me who has been getting 70s-80s with decent teachers and a pathetic tutor.. even has a chance or is that UAI suicide?

amandaz

Stan.. said:
Thanks for all response,