SATs and US institutions (1 Viewer)

R0L13D

HSC
Good evening all :) (it is currently evening at the current time that I am messaging this text)

My name is Roald and I’m currently a year 11 student (Sydney) and I’ve been setting my eyes out on attending American institutions; my top three are MIT, Yale and Harvard.

I have read about the different criteria’s and stages to apply to these prestigious universities and I’ve heard about taking the SATs and ACTs.

I’ve been wondering about where I could possibly take these tests here in Sydney, Australia, and if I do, when would be the best time too take them? (Year 11 or 12)?

Thank you :)

blyatman

HSC
N/A
You can do a quick google search to find out. I believe you take them at a registered testing center, which if I remember correctly (from when I took the GRE's) is in Circular Quay. Might be different for the more common SAT's, so you should check to make sure.

You can take them any time. You should first look at the SAT guidebook and any sample SAT papers to make sure you know enough to do well in them, otherwise you'd just be wasting your money.

As regard to the university choices, note that it is extremely difficult to get into those schools you mentioned. You're literally competing with top high school students across the globe. Stellar academics is the absolute bare minimum to even be considered, but by itself, is usually nowhere near enough to get past the first round. Usually those that get in have something that makes them stand out, e.g. academic olympian, national-level athletics, etc.

Last edited:

idkkdi

HSC
Good evening all :) (it is currently evening at the current time that I am messaging this text)

My name is Roald and I’m currently a year 11 student (Sydney) and I’ve been setting my eyes out on attending American institutions; my top three are MIT, Yale and Harvard.