Section 1 (1 Viewer)

Koowy

HSC
Re: First question's quote: ho-hum?

billy_slater said:
i am so fcuked.
i said that she was against post modernism HAHA 0/25 for me.
I feel your pain! I wasted so much time contrasting her to Jenkins and now I find out she was a post-modernist too.

nallask8r

HSC

dun wry , how is bos suppose to assume every1 knows clendien's personal background. you should be able to pick up enough from the source and clearly she does not sound post-modernist in that source. therefore those who said she was empircist/modernist (myself) will be fine.

Asheroth

Paranoid Android
HSC

The dude above me, while having appalling spelling and grammar, is right. :D As long you justified your interpretation by backing it up from the source, you should be fine.

Bobness

English / Law
HSC
N/A

thenothing said:
I studied Clendinnen. I *know* she's a post modernist. She said there were 'usable truths' - the empiricist belives there is one, absolute truth.
thenothing said:
Myth making is a stab at relativists - namely Herodotus and Irving. Post modernists don't make up stuff :p
you're cool

jackal8 said:
Not having read the whoel thread but.

Clendinnen doesnt say history is a science .. i think this is taken out of context ... i believe she is actually deflating therold of the historian as a profession to say it is not so much a study of the past, but rather a scientific study of "... 'useable truth's regarding the human condition ..."
you're awesome

DucKy:: said:
the first half of the source was in another paper. last years hsc i believe. same question on purpose too, except more specific
you should be studying chem. k thx bye :wave:

nallask8r said:
err couldn't you label just label her a modernist?
er how? if you'd like to do that (which i guess is possible ..) you'd have to back it up with evidence but its quite hard to grasp modernist historiography. i just lump it with empiricism but hey go for it.

Asheroth said: