Thoughts on Private Tutors??? (1 Viewer)

Peeik

HSC
Hey guys, just curious to see what HSC students look for in a tutor. Please rank 1-5 (1 being the most important) the following things you look for in a private tutor.

- High HSC marks in the subjects they tutor
- High ATAR
- Studying education at Uni or possessing an education degree
- Explains concepts clearly regardless of what mark they got in the HSC
- The cost for tuition

As in my sig, im an ed student so this is very interesting to us ed students!

Cheers!

RealiseNothing

what is that?It is Cowpea
HSC
No matter how high you're marks are/were, if you can't teach the concepts nor the course properly, then you aren't a good tutor.

In saying that, I'd go with:

- High HSC marks in the subjects they tutor----------2
- High ATAR---------5
- Studying education at Uni or possessing an education degree----------4
- Explains concepts clearly regardless of what mark they got in the HSC--------1
- The cost for tuition----------3

Carrotsticks

Retired
HSC
N/A
PRIVATE TUTORS...UM...kinky ;)
lol wut.

2. High HSC marks in the subjects they tutor
4. High ATAR
5. Studying education at Uni or possessing an education degree
1. Explains concepts clearly regardless of what mark they got in the HSC
3. The cost for tuition

Drongoski

HSC
N/A
Why an Education Degree? If I were a student looking for a tutor I'll go for one with a good degree in the subject in question. If seeking a Physics tutor I'll go for one who has Physics as a solid part of his degree. But I think most students on BOS think a great ATAR is key criterion. Cost is of course an important issue (I sometimes joke with my student's parents that I can't afford my own rates not that they are unreasonable!). In this regard recent HSC graduates with a great ATAR have an advantage as they are heaps more affordable.

Last edited:

Peeik

HSC