Tips for a job noob? (1 Viewer)

WTF!bbq

if you have to ask
HSC
Question tiiiime! Advice plaz :( cause I'm not very good at this kinda stuff.
Mum reckons I should get a job, just a couple of hours a week so I can stop spending all her money on silly things and spend my own instead. So, two things:
  • The three places I want to work (Big W, Target and *sigh* Supré) want me to apply online. I've tried this. It's gotten me nowhere. Is there any way around this? Should I waltz in to the service desk and be like "Hiiiii" *punch dude in the face* "Job plz kthxbye!!" Or do they tend to get the shits if people come in asking to talk to the manager when they've already got the internets thing going?
  • I don't have any previous work experience, my friends have told me to write about school achievements, debating, volunteer work etc. How far back should this stretch (two years? Three?) What other stuff could I talk about? Aaand seeing as I don't have any work references, how many teachers (if any) should I list as referees?
  • Whats the best way to go job hunting? Should I be giving out lots of photocopies of my resumé to a bunch of places or should I do the whole cover letter and lots-of-time-dedicated-to-impressing-them approach?
Any advice is muchly appreciated with hugs and kisses and chocolate chip cookies.

Cheers
Dani

grue

HSC
Cover letters are unnecessary for the time being. Applying online for those places can take ages.. I guess the best way to approach it is to actually come up to them and give them your resume. Maybe they'll assume you don't have internet access or something thus you disabling you from applying online. :p So print a couple of those resumes and start giving'em to the store managers. You should also apply at more than just your preferences.. There are other stores like Cotton On, Valley Girl, Gloria Jeans, Starbucks, etc. You have to keep your options wide open for a higher chance in landing a career.