What's Canberra like in general as well as the University? (1 Viewer)

dv3

HSC
Hi,

I'm thinking of coming to Canberra next year to study a double degree of Software Engineering/Business Informatics. But, before I make my decision and ditch the University of Newcastle (where I'm currently studying at) I have a few questions I would like to ask.

1. What is the social aspect like at 'The University of Canberra' and the community itself? Now, I know that it's not like say Sydney although a rough idea would be good.

2. I hear that the staff/lecturers/tutors at the University are unhelpful and give unsatisfactory responses. For instance, I was talking to a friend of mine who went with his sister last year to visit one of the open days and asked one of the lecturers "what is the difference between Bachelor of Applied Science here and Bachelor of Science at ANU" the science lecturer replied, "Well here you do majors and minors in the science classes you like." :(

3. True or False: If you want to suffer from life-long depression, then UC is for you.

4. Are the towns people and people in general friendly? Are there places in Canberra that are particularly dangerous? If so, what are the towns/places a student should avoid?

5. Do a lot of people who go to Canberra come from Interstate? As I don't want to be the only one going to Canberra next year not knowing anybody. Are there a lot of International students that go to this University?

6. What is the cultural diversity of students attending this University? As I know that USYD and UNSW have great diverse range of backgrounds but wasn't sure about the University of Canberra.

7. Is anyone doing/has done a Bachelors Degree in Software Engineering or a Bachelors Degree in Business Informatics (or even a Double in both)? If so, how was/is it like? Did you enjoy the course? Are your tutors/lectures helpful and do they teach well?