Accelerated Subjects? - What are they? (1 Viewer)

Aquawhite

Retiring
HSC
Uni Grad
I hear a lot of people on the forums speaking of accelerated Mathematics Ext 1/2 etc.... I don't really know if my school offers them! What is required in these courses... well what are they?

What is the difference between an accelerated course and the normal one? Does the accelerated one go faster, lol?

Please, I need help as I am making my subject selections....

nick3157

Not Actually A Member
HSC
you picked it: accelerated courses go faster. basically you end up doing the HSC a year early in that course. sometimes schools offer them (because it makes them look good) to students who are really good at maths or english etc. dont bother with it.

the-derivative

BCom/LLB (UNSW)
HSC
Acceleration is when you complete a HSC Course earlier than the rest of your cohort. It doesn't have to be in Mathematics or English - it can be any HSC Course. I'm currently an accelerated student sitting my HSC in Year 11 for Maths and Maths Ext 1 - and I would highly recommend it for the following reasons:

- It allows you to have a chance of significantly lowering your work load for Year 12, because you would have already finished 2 or 3 units of work by the time you reach year 12 (basically it's like dropping units - without actually dropping)
- You can focus more on your accelerated subject, because you are not pressured by any other subjects (even though you have the Year 11 Subjects, but the pressure year 11 puts on you will be significantly less than the HSC).
- You can re-sit the course if you do bad, therefore it's like you have a second chance and you would have already established an understanding of the course, so it would be easier second time round.
- You need to be accelerated to do courses like Philosophy, Cosmology and Comparative literature.