about the 6 month Probation period (1 Viewer)

Bored.Of.Life

HSC
anyone else still in their probation period? I work as a casual associate at Big W and was wondering how hard/easy is it to successfully pass the probation period without getting fired or left with 0 shifts in the end? so do the managers examine your work and behaviour very closely at every shift? i despertately want to keep this job for more than a year at the least. :hammer:

P

pLuvia

I doubt it lol. And anyway you probabation is actually 3 months, you get a pay rise after 3 months not 6 months

Bored.Of.Life

HSC
pLuvia said:
I doubt it lol. And anyway you probabation is actually 3 months, you get a pay rise after 3 months not 6 months
:eek: hmm but the email says otherwise:

"Probationary Period
All employees commence their employment at BIG W with a six month probationary period. During this period your manager will conduct three performance assessments that will assist you in acquiring the skills required to successfully perform your role. The assessment will also cover attitude and conduct, attendance and personal presentation."

how likely is it for someone to fail their probation period? :confused:

townie

Premium Member
HSC
Uni Grad
under WorkChoices probabation has to be 6 months, it's the law (or thats what i'm lead to believe, woolies definately has 6 month probation now - DOES NOBODY BOTHER TO READ THE NEW AWARDS WHEN THEY COME OUT!!)

however, the SDA negotiated that a payrise would occur at 3 months as per the old system

as for how easy it is, unless u fuck up royally, they will probably keep you, it actually costs quite a lot of money to hire/fire staff, so they prefer to keep them if possible

HSC
I'm on probation at Woolies too. Just do your job well, don't slack off and be punctual. You should be fine then.

jannny

HSC
Last shit the manager had a quicky convo with me about how I am performing. I was on target except for,