Anyone major in Performance/Theatre/Film studies? (1 Viewer)

HSC
I'm a year 12 student, and i was just wondering if any of you do Bachelor of Arts and major in Performance Studies/ Theatre/ Film studies or know of anyone who does? Thanks!:)

cayte

You don't actually get to do any performance I believe. Audition for Nida if you want to do a real theatre course. You probably won't get in (they take 1% of all applicants) but it's worth a shot.

stazi

Nightman
HSC
I dont think that was the question. The question was whether or not anyone is majoring in those subjects
Personally, I wouldnt recommend majoring in them (I am in year 12 though). If applying for a job, i dont think a major in film studies sounds good.
I'm probably going to major in english and then psychology in 3rd year

cayte

I don't think it matters if that's what you think the question was. If one was to simply answer the question, one would simply be responding yes or no. The implication was that green_appletini
wanted to know what the course was like. I gave green_appletini
an adequate response to that question. If you think you are getting into a course where you get to perform, you are not. If you want to perform consider your other options. You may note that you made less of a response than did I to the question. Thus you can now shutup.

Will_Sparky

Left BOS 8/7/2005...
HSC
Hey,

Well I was having similar questions about a major (or simply credit points in) Performance Studies. I am more of a theorist when it comes to Drama, the best of my marks come from essays and critical theory in Drama.

What I've been told is that Sydney does not have a good Drama program, now what I want to know is if anyone else has heard this, and if anyone is doing the degree, do they enjoy it?

cayte