• Want to help us with this year's BoS Trials?
    Let us know before 30 June. See this thread for details
  • Looking for HSC notes and resources?
    Check out our Notes & Resources page

B.Com reputation abroad? (2 Viewers)

choco6

HSC
Could someone tell me whether B.Com is considered prestigious in the UK/US? I am planning to apply for jobs in both the places, but some people have told me that the likelihood of getting a good job with this course is very low?

dils1989

dilssssssssssss
HSC
aren't 3 yr degrees not recognised in the US? i think if u do CA/other post grad, then they will recognise it though? or if you go over and do a conversion course which i think takes 18 months - not too sure about that though...

EDIT: yeh i think if u do honours its recognised in the USA

Last edited:

choco6

HSC
well, i have an honours degree, if that makes any difference.the problem is that apparently commerce isn't considered to be a 'proper' subject in the UK & USA.

shells15

HSC
N/A
Omnidragon said:
It's crap. No one's heard of it.
sarcasm aside, it's true that courses like business and commerce don't have a good reputation in the UK(not sure about the US).

Last edited:

BackCountrySnow

HSC
choco6 said:
well, i have an honours degree, if that makes any difference.the problem is that apparently commerce isn't considered to be a 'proper' subject in the UK & USA.
So what's considered 'proper' in the UK/US?
economics?

choco6

HSC
BackCountrySnow said:
So what's considered 'proper' in the UK/US?
economics?
Yeah, I think they prefer the more traditional subjects. I posted a similar question on a UK website. They told me that subjects like commerce are considered 'mickey mouse' subjects there?!

Last edited:

Vagabond

Machine
HSC