bio question help pls (1 Viewer)

stressedadfff

HSC
hey guys ive never been tol to write a epedemiological study or how to do so in class, could someone please help me please on what to include

Screen Shot 2021-09-23 at 12.13.42 am.png

stressedadfff

HSC
also this please! :) i understand that it is father three because there are more matching bands and related indivuduals ar emore liekly to have the same sections of reptitive dna seqeunces. but idk how to elaborate from there?
Screen Shot 2021-09-23 at 1.04.09 am.png

addictedtobubbletea

HSC
also this please! :) i understand that it is father three because there are more matching bands and related indivuduals ar emore liekly to have the same sections of reptitive dna seqeunces. but idk how to elaborate from there?
View attachment 32248
I'm no bio expert but I thought I'd give this a crack, feel free to point out any holes in my response
  • Bands 2, 3 and 6 of the child's DNA profile corresponds to the mother's DNA profile, hence these STRs are most likely inherited from the mother. The remaining bands of the child's DNA profile, bands 1, 4 and 5, correspond to the DNA profile of Dad 3, hence these STRs are most likely inherited from Dad 3. (1 mark to justify why its Dad 3)
  • Only bands 3 and 4 of the child's DNA profile matches Dad 1's DNA profile, and only bands 1 and 5 of the child's DNA profile matches Dad 2's DNA profile, suggesting unlikely inheritance of STRs from Dads 1 or 2. (1 mark to justify why its not Dad 1 or 2)
  • Thus, since there are the most shared bands between Dad 3 and the child, Dad 3 is the most likely biological father of the child. (1 mark for conclusion)
I do think you're on the right track though, since its an analysis question it doesnt seem as though you need to elaborate on how dna profiling actually works. but I might be wrong so dont take my word for it ahahhah

Eagle Mum

HSC
N/A
This is a broader explanation which includes components that address the question.