computer engineering (1 Viewer)

compower1

computer engineering/transfering at unsw or usyd

HI !(im kinda new at this)

im doing alrite in subjects, and will proly get a uai around the mid or high 80s....unfortunately computer engineering's cut offs for the past few years have been around the low 90s area, and its unlikely it will change. Are there any other ways to get into comp eng at unsw, or uysd ? ? ?

Last edited:

McLake

The Perfect Nerd
HSC
Welcome compower1

You can do Comp Sci, which has a UAI of about 85. You can then either tailor your course to be similar to Comp Eng, or transfer in after Sem 1.

compower1

re: above

yes...i could do that...but the teachers and carrers adivisor iv talked to say its wont me as easy as everyone makes it out to be...so im hoping to find a way where i can get into to comp eng straight away...mabe with a folder of my work i can do or something, like some of the other courses have, to lower the uai

Huy

HSC
N/A
Computer Engineering is UAI only.

If it accepted "folders/samples of work" then it would be U+C.
(other criteria, such as interviews, external tests, portfolios, etc).

To lower the UAI, you would have to apply via EAS/Access scheme, but there is no guarantee that you will make it. If not, (and I believe it is too late), you can sit for UWS/RET and do computer engineering there, if you are dedicated/passionate about becoming a computer engineer/etc.

:)

compower1

re above...

thanx for the suggestion but i would rather do comp science...and defer....than stuff up my future...with UWS (no offence to UWS i just don like the place), as i sure there would a good reason there uai's are about 30 points lower, comp eng is 60 there.

Last edited:

Huy

HSC
N/A
Originally posted by compower1
im hoping to find a way where i can get into to comp eng straight away
Originally posted by compower1
i would rather do comp science...and differ
By 'differ' - do yo mean defer? or transfer? As McLake as suggested: