CSE Electives: which one to pick? (1 Viewer)

Nightwish218

HSC
I'm in my third year ( Doing Software Engineering ) and its time to start picking CSE electives, having a pretty hard time deciding as I don't find most of them terribly interesting and am unsure which ones will be useful or will give me an edge in securing a job after graduating.
The only two I am strongly interested in are Security Engineering and Game Design Workshop. Both of which may not be very useful.

The following seem to be useful:
Concepts of Programming Languages - COMP3161 http://www.handbook.unsw.edu.au/undergraduate/courses/2013/COMP3161.html
Algorithms and Programming Techniques - COMP3121 http://www.handbook.unsw.edu.au/undergraduate/courses/2013/COMP3121.html

The entire list can be found at: http://www.handbook.unsw.edu.au/vbook2013/brCoursesBySubjectArea.jsp?studyArea=COMP&StudyLevel=Undergraduate

It'd be great if someone can give me some recommendation or advice on picking electives.

Thanks!

RazorICE

UNSW Engineering
HSC
Uni Grad
I can't speak for COMP3161, and I'll be taking COMP3121 this coming semester, but here are a random selection of course opinions from me and what I believe my friends say:

COMP3441 Security Engineering - Haven't done this one, but I've heard it isn't great. On the other hand:

COMP9447 Security Engineering Workshop - Haven't done it, but have only heard good things about it. Also seems like if you're quite good you can skip the pre-reqs.

COMP4431 Game Design Workshop - Heard it's a lot of fun, though obviously how useful it may be depends on you.

COMP3211 Computer Architecture - I found it to be quite a fun and very informative course, but I also found the assessment to lean towards easy.