DNA Polymerase Chain Reaction Question (1 Viewer)

Dreamerish*~

Love Addict - Nakashima
HSC
Being a non-biology student, I feel like I'm missing an arm and a leg. :(

Quoted from CC:

Because a person has two types of DNA - one from each parent - each primer pair will have grown two DNA fragments - one from each original type of DNA. These fragments may be the same or different.

Remember that there were two synthesised fragments per pair of primers because there were two types of DNA - one from each parent.

I thought that during PCR Amplification, only one fragment of DNA is copied. Why is there two? Isn't it the same fragment of DNA that is being copied multiple times?

Pleas explain. Ta. ;)

Survivor39

Premium Member
HSC
Hmm... I think the auother of CC is confused as well. :D

The double helix unwind to form TWO strands (in which the authors called it "two types" from different parent - not really true. He is confused with homologous chromosomes that are derived from each parent)

One primer attach to one strand and add bases onto it - form one double-stranded DNA
Another primer attach to one strand and add bases onto it - form the second double-stranded DNA.

Hence two double-stranded DNA, identical to the parent DNA, unless wrong base-paring occurs.

I thought that during PCR Amplification, only one fragment of DNA is copied. Why is there two? Isn't it the same fragment of DNA that is being copied multiple times?

The author meant 2 newly-synthesised DNA or fragments, not the original fragment.

Dreamerish*~

Love Addict - Nakashima
HSC
Thank you so much for clearing that up.

The CC diagrams are confusing too. :(

Dreamerish*~

Love Addict - Nakashima
HSC
I was about to look through Chemistry in Context but I thought it's easier just to ask BoS.

Dreamerish*~

Love Addict - Nakashima
HSC
Another question: