• Want to take part in this year's BoS Trials event for Maths and/or Business Studies?
    Click here for details and register now!
  • YOU can help the next generation of students in the community!
    Share your trial papers and notes on our Notes & Resources page

Double Business major vs. Single major with Diploma in Language (1 Viewer)

boatz

HSC
N/A
Hi guys! :) I'm a first year business student and I'd like to hear your opinions on this. I havent yet chosen a business major - I'm waiting to get a taste of all the core subjects, and I'm also studying Indonesian (which I have done up to year 12).

I'm wondering which option you guys think employers might value more:
a) major in 2 business disciplines, such as accounting and marketing for example, which are quite different but could also complement each other.
b) Major in one business discipline and complete a Diploma in Indonesian.

They say a language is valuable but will it really be helpful in getting a better job? At the moment I am slightly more interested in the business side of things but it is very early days and I think if i put in the effort I could do well in Indonesian. Is there a way to incorporate both options? :S

Replies appreciated! Thanks!</SPAN>

HalcyonSky

HSC
a language other than Indonesian would be helpful

..and how does marketing compliment accounting? if you're going to double major do something like accounting / finance

boatz

HSC
N/A
^^Just curious, why a language other than Indonesian?
And accounting/marketing was just an example, I havent chosen a major yet. But one of my lecturers has a background in both marketing and accounting and said while she was working in marketing her accounting knowledge was very helpful as she was often dealing with financial reports relating to campaigns. But yeah just an example idk yet what I will choose.

HalcyonSky

HSC