Drama essays -HELP!!!! (1 Viewer)

JYBJYBJYB238

HSC
I'm a year 12 student at a (dreadfulll) country high school, and my class (and myself) still don't know how to write a drama essay properly!!
What we write for drama would be excellent A range english essays (but including include exporential learning ect etc - we put in what we're told to) - and receive a B at the highest! which is terrible as I want a minimum of a band 5 in drama, and an overall high atar.
The teacher seems to mark by his own mysterious, objective methods, and none of us can figure out how to please him with our essay work :(

Are we supposed to write in first person for the exporential?

What are some of the must-do points for a drama essay?

Some advice, in any way, shape or form would be excellent. Thanks.

captainpigs

Tutor and Note Seller
HSC
Uni Grad
Don't be put off by your Bs in your essays- my drama class never once had an A range essay between any of us yet we all still performed well int he exam.

could i ask what topics your doing?

Yes- when speaking about workshops speak in first person.
A really good resource to read is this http://dramateachersnetwork.wordpress.com/2011/07/24/tips-for-writing-a-drama-essay/ it gives you a good idea.
I was lucky as we had a dedicated literacy teacher who gave all subjects structure scaffolds.

Good luck!

JYBJYBJYB238

HSC
Wow i only just saw that this had a reply to it (sorry for being a few months slow)

thanks ~:)

I'm doing
verbatim theatre: the Laramie Project and Parramatta Girls
and Traditional Australian Theatre: the Removalist and Norm and Ahmed..

I don't have any interest in these texts either, so i think that may be a problem I'm facing with my questions, as I don't believe that these types of theatre (although they're interesting in theory) are very entertaining, nor do they really effectively use techniques etc. etc..........

captainpigs

Tutor and Note Seller
HSC
Uni Grad
Damn I did different topics so I can't help.