• Want to help us with this year's BoS Trials?
    Let us know before 30 June. See this thread for details
  • Looking for HSC notes and resources?
    Check out our Notes & Resources page

Education Not Indoctrination (2 Viewers)

Truthbynumbers

HSC
I am a new uni student, and on this boring sunday ventured forth to the kitchens for breakfast and found a copy of the sunday telegraph sitting on the bench next to me. Unfortunately, not having anything else on me to read, I opened the paper and came upon a rather interesting article on the activities of the Young Liberals (wedged between an article about how Aussie women should flirt more and how two female celebrities wanted to fight eachother).

http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/story/0,22049,23342541-5001021,00.html

Now, I have met right wing teachers in my time, and found that they took their power over developing minds deadly seriously. None of them attempted to indoctrinate me into their beleifs. I have also met left wing teacher (and yes, significantly more than right wing teachers), and while they have no problem saying that they support this party or that party, they have never EVER tried to indoctrinate me into anything. They have often (as did the right wing teachers) stressed that a balanced outlook in the classroom is essential, and taught the arguements of both sides of politics.

So my question to you is:
Have you ever felt discriminated against in the classroom, and do you beleive (as I do) that this is just the Young Liberals crying wolf?

^CoSMic DoRiS^^

makes the woosh noises
HSC