• Want to help us with this year's BoS Trials?
    Let us know before 30 June. See this thread for details
  • Looking for HSC notes and resources?
    Check out our Notes & Resources page

Extension 2 English? (And a general plea for advice...) (1 Viewer)

Anvaeon

HSC
Um, hello.

I'm leaping onto this forum rather panic-stricken. Should I pick up Extension 2 English? My situation:

I'm currently studying *ahem* Advanced English, Mathematics, Biology, Physics, Chemistry and Extension 1 English.

My plan was to drop the 1 unit Visual Design course I’d studied in the Prelim course to pick up Extension 2 English. I love English, I’m good at English (but by whose standards? I go to a school with 22 students in my year. Saying I’m ‘top of the class’ doesn’t stand for much). But I don’t know… One of my English teachers was quite discouraging today when she questioned if I’d be able to handle the extra workload, the unnecessary pressure. She kept asking me why why why I wanted to study Extension English (as in – what do I need it for?).

I picked up Chemistry late in the Prelim course, and am still catching up. Although that must sound absolutely shocking, my Chemistry/Physics teacher is rather… Unconventional and seems confident that we (another student picked it up late too – we’re a class of 2) can do it (I fear he has too much confidence in us…). Anyway, that’s on top of a drastic drop in Maths marks in the Prelim exams (so more work is needed there) and a problem with equationness in Physics… Would Extension 2 be too much?

I don’t know what I want to do when I leave school. Definitely Uni, but I don’t know what to study. I used to think I wanted to be a science journalist, but now I’m not sure. Science and English… A combination of the two would be good.