• Want to help us with this year's BoS Trials?
    Let us know before 30 June. See this thread for details
  • Looking for HSC notes and resources?
    Check out our Notes & Resources page

Graduate Medicine? (1 Viewer)

White Rabbit

Bloody Shitcakes
HSC
I'm planning on doing nursing and early childhood Ed next year, but was also considering Medicine. If I got my nursing degree, I could work part-time as RN, which would be great, but is this an OK degree to be doing if I plan on eventually applying for Medicine eventually? What Uni's offer it as a graduate course? I know Sydney, Queensland, Melbourne and Flinders do, but does UNSW, or Newcastle? Maybe ANU?

Thanks

Soul

New Title...
hey,

My tutor was an ex- nurse and she considered doing medicine, i think they cut off some time because you'd already know a little medicine by then....

I think you'd be best advised to talk to a uni careers advisor

sif not 99

i know for USYD that the degree that you do is not relevant as it is purely on Grade point average, the GAMSAT test and an interview (if you make it that far). Im sure the nursing would not be a negative if you were to make it as far the interview.

The thing is for the GAMSAT, correct me if I am wrong, you need a Year 12 knowledge of physics, and a first year uni knowledge of Chem and Bio, thats where doing a science based degree comes in handy.

Kittycat

HSC
Originally posted by sif not 99
The thing is for the GAMSAT, correct me if I am wrong, you need a Year 12 knowledge of physics, and a first year uni knowledge of Chem and Bio, thats where doing a science based degree comes in handy.
I think you have to have at least HSC Chem and it is recommended that you do Physics and Bio.
Some of my friends is sitting for it.

jnothman

dismember
HSC