Help, should I drop maths or not (1 Viewer)

student711

HSC
I am a high school student who is doing 12 units for the HSC. I currently do twelve units of study. I am unsure whether to drop Advanced Maths or not. I don't mind the subject (I don't hate it) but I wouldn't say that I really like it. In terms of marks in all my subjects, maths is the lowest and it requires a lot of time and effort. I was first keeping Maths as safeguard in case I don't do well in one subject but now I am not sure anymore. The only reason I had kept it for in case it is a prerequisite for uni courses. I am interested in doing a double degree of commerce and arts. I know some universities require it is a prerequisite for commerce or business degrees. If I do drop it, then will it restrict me from entering any universities?

jimmysmith560

Le Phénix Trilingue
HSC
Uni Grad
I am unsure whether to drop Advanced Maths or not. I don't mind the subject (I don't hate it) but I wouldn't say that I really like it. In terms of marks in all my subjects, maths is the lowest and it requires a lot of time and effort. I was first keeping Maths as safeguard in case I don't do well in one subject but now I am not sure anymore.
If you are 100% sure you can perform well in your remaining 10 units, then I would advise you to drop Mathematics Advanced. Doing so will allow you to spend the time you normally do on maths on studying for your other subjects. 10 units will require you to be determined and diligent to ensure you perform well in all of your units, because not doing so means you're putting yourself at risk of not performing well in a particular subject, in which case there will be no backup.

The only reason I had kept it for in case it is a prerequisite for uni courses. I am interested in doing a double degree of commerce and arts. I know some universities require it is a prerequisite for commerce or business degrees.