Hip Hop The Future (1 Viewer)

CHE-13S

HSC
N/A
Hi to all, I am new to BOS but hope this will be the first of many contributions to the forum.
I have thought about this after being inspired by an article by Emma-Kate Symons in The Weekend Oz a while ago.

I have some questions for the hip-hop fans out there on a subject that has had me thinking. Is modern Hip-Hop still culturally significant to the classic audience of poor African Americans? Does hip-hop actually mean anything anymore? Does it have a purpose? I am constantly pissed off when people tell me the early 90s hip-hop i listen to is crap music. There seems to be some ignorance out there in the population regarding hiphop music. I am thinking that people are putting 50 cent, eminem, etc into the same basket as 2PAC, Ice Cube, PE, etc.

Also, what do you think about the new phenomenon of 'flaunting' wealth? Is it counter-productive or in some way a betrayal of the origins of hiphop? I am beginning to hate this "Can ya control yo' ho/ rollin escalade" bullshit being put out by Snoop Dogg. Apart from Nas i can't think of any big modern artists getting political or activist in these dark years of GW Bush. I have heard of Paris and his 'Sonic Jihad' but would like to see more of this to make hiphop the cultural force it once was.

I am interested to see what you think about hiphop's relevance and hiphop in general.

shady_03

Sue me....
HSC
CHE-13S said:
Hi to all, I am new to BOS but hope this will be the first of many contributions to the forum.
I have thought about this after being inspired by an article by Emma-Kate Symons in The Weekend Oz a while ago.