• Want to take part in this year's BoS Trials event for Maths and/or Business Studies?
    Click here for details and register now!
  • YOU can help the next generation of students in the community!
    Share your trial papers and notes on our Notes & Resources page

How to get a cool retail job (2 Viewers)

law_stud

HSC
N/A
Hey!

I've been reading threads here and they've been really helpful, but I'm still in need of some advice,

I'm at uni doing a 4 day a week hectic program, with sat/sun/wed off - I want to work 1 day a week as a casual in retail, preferably at my local Westfield...

Even though I'm a retail job noob, I'm sure it would be a piece of cake getting a job if I didn't have to qualify all my enthusiastic "I would love to work for [Insert Retail Store] BUT I can only fit in casual work one day a week" ...

Should I just get over this and go do some approaching? is it that simple that I walk in and ask if there are job vacancies?

thanks for any advice you ppl have!

Lennie

Err actually its tough getting a job in retail of you don't have experience... Not only that, being available one day a week isnt exactly desirable.

Walk in with only one day availability and you have no chance... You should wait until just before the uni holidays before you apply, and make sure that by that stage, your availability is pretty much full-time.

It works well because if they like you, they will let you stay on for only one day a week when Uni resumes. Just before/ during the holidays is alos def. the best time to apply as the turnover rate during that period increases ten fold.

In my experience, just approaching them seems to be the most sucessful way to go. Alot of places don't advertise their jobs! (But I guess that depends on the store... Where were you thinking of applying?)

Anyway... Good Luck!!

melsc

Premium Member
HSC