• YOU can help the next generation of students in the community!
    Share your trial papers and notes on our Notes & Resources page

Increase in Full-Fee Places, decrease in HECS places? (1 Viewer)

epsilon

HSC
Hey guys. Being a 2004 HSC student, I suddenly had a panic attack while eating my pizza tonight. I suddenly remembered that Brendan Nelson (our Education Minister) said that full-fee places for 2005 would be increased. Does that mean that HECS places will be decreased??? Does this mean that the UAI's for the courses this year will all increase higher than 'normal' (compared to 04)? *Sweating now...*

Damn I hate Liberal!!!

epsilon

HSC
I guess what I'm trying to ask is that, would the increase in the intake of full fee students this year DECREASE the number of HECS places available? Will this cause the increase in the UAI cut-offs for this year to be much higher than the previous years?

Generator

HSC
N/A
Now up to 35% of a course's intake (except medicine) may be set aside for full-fee students, so for the the more popular degrees at the universities offering full-fee places I guess that the published HECS cut-offs could rise, despite the number of new Commonwealth funded places being created throughout the country.

http://www.backingaustraliasfuture.gov.au/fact_sheets/3.htm#f

ohne

HSC
epsilon said:
Hey guys. Being a 2004 HSC student, I suddenly had a panic attack while eating my pizza tonight. I suddenly remembered that Brendan Nelson (our Education Minister) said that full-fee places for 2005 would be increased. Does that mean that HECS places will be decreased??? Does this mean that the UAI's for the courses this year will all increase higher than 'normal' (compared to 04)? *Sweating now...*

Damn I hate Liberal!!!