is 80 WAM acheivable in commerce first year??? (1 Viewer)

skye_studies

HSC
Essentially, I already know that is it highly unlikely for me to get into Law/Commerce at UNSW straight away, so my plan was to do Commerce next year and then internal transfer into the dual degree after the first year. (My LAT wasn't what I hoped for)
I've been getting mixed responses about how hard it actually is to obtain the WAM to IPT (over 75, but more like 79+)

So for those who have done/are doing a Bachelor of Commerce and got a WAM of 80+, how much did you study, etc? For the record, I am the type of student that does relatively decently without much study and I studied a commerce-related subject for hsc, but navigating uni and a Commerce degree may be different...

I'm just terrified of not making internal transfer, so I guess im just trying to allay my fears a bit.

Zoinked

Beast
HSC
Sitting on an 80+ WAM without really studying that much. Thats at mq, idk how different unsw difficulty is.

D94

HSC
N/A
Sitting on an 80+ WAM without really studying that much. Thats at mq, idk how different unsw difficulty is.
80 in Commerce at UNSW is just outside of the top 5% in later years. In earlier years, it's probably the top 15%.

SuperAltastic

HSC
Yes it is I, and it all comes down to what subjects you do. For examples certain ones like mgmt1001 mark really harsh and people get like 51 to just pass. I am on a 80 wam but I also did the science subjects that were medium hard but not too much. If you really had to put hours to it you need to consider some stuff.

1. Are you going to go to ALL the lectures and stay on top of them?
2. Are you going to work ahead and continuously revise?

If 1 and 2 are yes than you will be on track to the 80 plus for sure but as I said it also depends on the subjects you pick if you want some subjects when you enrol just post here or ask the UNSW subject reviews page.

captainneuro

HSC