Jazz Comp (1 Viewer)

soulshine

HSC
anyone doing jazz for their composition?

i am and i feel like i'm kinda screwed. I'm only new to jazz, and now i am endeavouring to compose a fairly standard like song/piece for piano trio, maybe quartet with clarinet or something. kinda oscar peterson style.

it just seems so hard coz i am only just learning about the stuff for the first time now. its too late to start looking at something else. waa *whinge*i'm getting jazz piano lessons which is helping me understand the style and things i can do with harmony n stuff but... hmm... i dunno, what are your views in this style of composition?

then i'm gonna have to like notate all impro sections aye... crap in the poop. o_O

i dunno what i am really asking here. hi.

demosthenes

Executive Sardine
HSC
I am not doing a jazz composition for my submitted composition. I find that when I do compose jazz pieces, however, it is easy if you base the chords progressions, melody etc. on other compositions. It has to be said that the majority of standard jazz is recucled (think II-V-I's, 12 and 16 bar blues etc.) so it doesnt harm to emulate other compositions. Just dont go to far and delve into blatant plagarism...because they will know. :D

soulshine

HSC
i'm doing music 2. this is for elective comp.

yeah, you see now i'm concerned that whatever i come up with wont be original enough. or if it is original it'll be completely wrong in terms of the style i'm doing.

my teacher knows nothing about jazz too. which is a huge fecking bonus.

bleh.

Phanatical

Happy Lala
HSC
Find a jazz tutor. There are plenty of jazz students at the Con who would be willing to teach you. If you send me your details, I'll put the word out among SECS-registered jazz musicians for somebody in your area.

ujuphleg

oo-joo-fleg
HSC
Keep in mind that for Music 2 - Elective the composition is SUPPOSED to emulate the style in which you have chosen.