Juggling: Uni & Part-time Work (1 Viewer)

GinoIs

HSC
After putting some resumes out today, I got a call back this afternoon from a service station seeking some part-time workers. I'll be having an interview tomorrow and more than likely I'll probably be asked how many hours a week I would like - So what's a good amount of hours to be working in a week while bearing uni?

It's my first year and adding up the hours from the timetable (tut & lec) I'll be there for 15hours. I've been told that for every hour in a tut or lec equates to an hour studying - so I'm guessing 30hrs in total.

I'm seeking advice on how people are fairing in terms of juggling uni as well as part-time work - any tips would be greatly appreciated.

And how are you coping with part-time work and uni?

Edit: Spelling & making sentences make sense.

Last edited:

Captain Gh3y

Rhinorhondothackasaurus
HSC
at one point last semester i did 30-35 hours work and 15 hours uni a week (contact hours only)

you wouldn't want to do much more than that (in total) if you're wanting to do well at uni

or if you're happy with scraping P's at uni you could work moar

EDIT: if you're doing science or engineering type subjects at uni probably work less because they're quite heavy sometimes :D

antisheep

HSC
I currently work a contracted 15 hours a week with additional 5 or so hours a week... funnily enough they government going to uni people reccommend that full time students only work 12 hours a week, but I don't know a single person that can make their life work on that much unless they're getting significant financial help from mummy and daddy. Working in somewhat bigger companies helps because then you usually have greater flexibility to drop hours around exam time and during holidays work more (For instance during holidays I generally work a 35 hour week) This way you can save money for textbooks.