• YOU can help the next generation of students in the community!
    Share your trial papers and notes on our Notes & Resources page

Languages (1 Viewer)

yamrdr

HSC
N/A
Hi

I want to study a language while i'm at uni but I'm tossing up between Japanese and German (I know, two completly diff languages!). I studied Japanese in years 9 and 10 at school and German for only one semester in like year 7. I was wondering, if anyone here has studied either or both of these languages what you think the pro's/ con's are. I remember enjoying japanese a lot but I also found it a bit difficult at times, mainly because I didn't devote enough time to studying it. I have heard that German is easier esp. if English is your first language. What do you guys think?

Thanx

tomorrows_angel

tomorrow is too soon...
HSC
haven't studied either, but pro's and cons as far as i can see it,

japanese is harder cos you have to learn the whole new character set/alphabet, and te conventions of writing are different. however it is more widely used than german is, and seems to have more application that german unless you want to go to germany...

german is a really gutteral language, the whole gender "male", "female" and "neutral" thing is confusing to learn, especially when it's not straight forward. However if you want to travel in europe and germany it would be better to learn, and the alphabet is basically the same.

it depends on what uni course you intend doing... if you did an arts/languages course you could do both, a fair few courses will allow you to do more than one language. and you'd start in the beginners classes, so you wouldn't have any problem with learning them.