Macquarie's SIBT: Good or Bad? (1 Viewer)

gm

HSC
Hi,

I'm a year 11 student, i'm really not very happy at school... I've been looking at ways other than school to succeed.

I found that Macquarie University runs the "Sydney Institute of Business and Technology".

With a pass in year 11, you can go on to get a Certificate IV in University Preperation in a single year. They can choose a commerce, computers or communication theme (The commerce theme really suits me as im in love with the stock market).

After the CertIV, you're able to go on to get a Diploma in for example Commerce (DipComm), if you do reasonably in the first year of the diploma, it is treated like first year university commerce and you get a guaranteed place in a second year commerce or applied finance degree.

I wanted to ask you guys (as i know you're an intelligent group of people), what do you think of this? could it damage my future? any advice?

By the way, the reason i don't like school is because i'm new to it this year, and i just don't like the environment, i was once a top student and i'm still very capable. Although the thought of going to my school depresses me each morning. If i go for SIBT it means i only have one more term of this left.

Please tell me your thoughts!

GM

ballerinabarbie

bundy for me
HSC
Originally posted by gm

By the way, the reason i don't like school is because i'm new to it this year,

what do u mean?

and i don't know much about this scheme... but it sounds like you have a pretty good idea of what you want to do... as long as you aren't going to regret your decision

Mr Wiggle

The Best
HSC
N/A
First of all i assumed you know the price for this course which costs around $10,000-11,000 for each certificate you pass.
Secondly it says that you are garaunteed of a second yr spot but if you fail the certificate then you have just wasted $10,000 for a business certificate when you can get that at TAFE.