• Best of luck to the class of 2024 for their HSC exams. You got this!
    Let us know your thoughts on the HSC exams here
  • YOU can help the next generation of students in the community!
    Share your trial papers and notes on our Notes & Resources page

Maths syllabus ... (1 Viewer)

HSC
Hey guys I'm studying for mathematics (self tuition) because I need it for uni, I found some of my old brother and sisters mathematics (and 3 unit ) text books. My sisters text book is from 1993 and my brothers from 1998, has the syllabus remained the same, has the syllabus changed for 2u as well as 3u since then?

insert-username

Wandering the Lacuna
HSC
According to my Head of Maths, the only change in the Maths syllabus in the past 20 years or so is the split to Preliminary/HSC course (20% of the Prelim course is accessible in the HSC anyway, so not much of a change). So you should be fine using those textbooks. :)

I_F

HSC
this should keep me busy, do you think 3u/4u is possible on self tuition? ive got plenty of time up my sleeve

insert-username

Wandering the Lacuna
HSC
I'd recommend that you consult with a teacher/someone who's already done it at least once a fortnight, if not weekly - especially with 4 unit stuff. Some things you'll pick up much faster with someone else there helping. Apart from that, if you're committed and put the work in, there's no reason why you can't teach yourself 3 unit and 4 unit (even if you need some help on the way). :)

I_F

HSC
my brother/sister got 96 / 98 for 2u and 48/50 (both) for 3u, so I guess they know it but from 7 years ago ? :(
thanks for the offer :D i will probably nag you guys for help, i am the family shame for not doing a hard maths

Riviet

HSC
N/A
Your brother/sister may not remember all their maths knowledge because it has been 7 years and in that time, you forget alot lol. My cousin's in 3rd year and she's forgotten almost all her 4u maths knowledge only becuase she hasn't used it in her uni courses.

P

pLuvia