• Want to take part in this year's BoS Trials event for Maths and/or Business Studies?
    Click here for details and register now!
  • YOU can help the next generation of students in the community!
    Share your trial papers and notes on our Notes & Resources page

Mooting (1 Viewer)

GoodToGo

HSC
N/A
melsc said:
Who's doing mooting this semester?
This is my first time doing it other than an assessment.
Well it's good to see you getting involved! I might be doing a bit of judging...

Did they have a Mooting tutorial/how to moot/whatever you call it thing?

iwannarock

HSC
i'd go to moots if it wasn't for the fact that i'd get pwned.

i havent done debating since year 8.

and even then........i usually didn't even try to stay on topic.

i would just attempt a stand up comedy routine instead.

i remember one particular debate i managed to cover toilet paper, the incredible ammount of law shows on tv created by the same person, guinea pigs, typical toilet humour stuff, and advertising.

the material was gold i tells ya.

HSC
i'm doing it
got one on wednesday.... it's fair tricky to find stuff on duress i'm finding (cases and such) after the 2005 amendment (which for some reason casebase doesn't like to search for). does anyone know if there are alterate search engines (or maybe i'm just doing it wrong - not too technologically able)

iwannarock

HSC
i was thinking of creating a mock moot team.

a team that doesnt try to win.......but tries to be the funniest.

i'd tie my hair up in a pony tail and have a pimp cain and have all these gold rings..........and someone else can have glasses with sticky tape in the middle and hold all the books...........and a girl to play casey novak from law and order.

and we use nothing but quotes from various legal movies such as the firm or the devils advocate or primal fear in our arguments.

how would this go down with the judging panel?

:santa:

HSC