Music1 (1 Viewer)

ledge56

HSC
Hi.

Im currently in Year 12( Just Started) and i am Studying Music1. Is their anyone that can help me with Getting ready for Performance's Exams and My Viva Voice .

And Hints on A Viva Voice Topic would be great because i currently dont have 1.

insert-username

Wandering the Lacuna
HSC
Firstly, welcome to BoS. :)

Secondly, my performance tip is to never, ever, ever show you've made a mistake. Keep going, and don't twitch, curse under your breath, or anything. If you can keep the beat constant, and pick straight back up, you'll end up with a better performance overall, and demonstrate that you can pick back up from errors quickly.

Thirdly, try the Music forum for more specific info. This forum is much more general - each subject has its own forum where better info is located. :)

I hope you enjoy your time here,

I_F

butterflyxx

HSC
Heyy,

I'm doing 3 performances and one composition for my major. I dunno what style of composition i should do =T

I've started composing all sorts of style on the piano... and so far, my parents prefer an ethnic piece i composed whereas my friends prefer a sorta pop style.

What should i do?

butterflyxx

HSC
Hmm, so any suggestions as to what type of composition the examiners are looking for? I have absolutely no idea what to do =(

Meads

Drummer Boy
HSC
A performance is exactly that...a performance...so perform! Regardless of what you play, make it entertaining, you are their to impress the crowd (ie the markers). There is a fine line between being a musician & a great player of your instrument. The best marks go to those performances which are technical, and are entertaining.

A perfect example is my music class, which was all boys, and 4 or 5 of them were 'punkers'. We all got above 80, and 2 of us got above 95. The two above 95 did 2 vivas, all the others did 4 performances. They did so well because they enjoyed what they did, and they nailed it, as if they were on stage.

Good Luck!