Need help with electives (1 Viewer)

unfilteredwater

HSC
Hey, I am thinking of doing a science degree in order to transfer into engineering at unsw, as apparently some of the subjects overlap degrees. Was wondering if anyone could help me out as the university structure is pretty foreign to me. Where do I go to do this and see what subjects overlap.

If I could skype or ring someone that would be great.

Thanks

Last edited:

baktiar77

HSC
Hey unfilteredwater,

In your post, I think you're saying something about doing science then later transferring into Engo, so I'm bit confused, are you already at uni doing science or are you not at uni yet (year 12, gap year, sem2 enrolment)?

Personally, I think it's much easier applying directly for eng, and I'm pretty sure since you can do a science degree, you have the required atar for
engineering anyway.

I'm a first year Engo student and pretty much 90% of engo students are doing the following combination :
-Maths1131/41,
- Phys 1121/31/41,
-First Year Comp: Comp1511/1911/Eng1811
-ENGG1000

Now in a science degree, you'll likely be able to do phys 1121/31/41 and probably maths 1131/41 (though I assume these won't be recommended). I dont believe the comp and engg are offered as 'science' electives. Now there's a high chance that if you do general science degree or at least one semi-related to medicine/biology that you'll do BABS and/or CHEM, which are technically considered Engineering electives and are pretty much core topics for Biomedical Engineering, so if you're going the tough way of transferring from Science --> Engo, Biomed is best your shot.

Also, a second issue is that if you're applying for enrolment into sem2, just be wary of which subjects are offered in sem2 (or sem 1) only. Always best to visit one of the student services offices of the faculty of engineering you're interested in.

unfilteredwater

HSC
Hey unfilteredwater,