SDD inquiry =) (1 Viewer)

flyingdude

hi guys

im currently in grade 10 (2002) and will be entering grade 11 next year.

being enthusiastic and inspired by the success of people in my school in their hsc marks

i am studying in advanced for the year ahead of me (its holidays)

so far i have gone through half of the prelim syllabus for physics, chem and maths

i would like to ask a few questions regarding the SDD course throughout the preliminary year.

1) is the course hard?
2) what computing languages are required / essential to learn for the next two years (i have already mastered vb to a suitable level - is that a good help for the sdd course?)
3) any good textbooks any of you guys can recommend?

thanks guys~

del

HSC
N/A
in response

1) It depends on the individual I guess and how well they understand the concepts. I guess most ppl get hung up on the algorithms rather the theory, but if u know the logic and control strcutures its fine. For me, SDD wasn't that hard, as I found it *alot* easier than 2U Maths (strangely enough)

2)The course doesn't require you know any particular langauge, though in Year 12 if you do the Evolution Of Programming Languages option, you will be required to distinguish between different paradigms based upon code fragements. Any language known is a starting point. VB is okay... look at other lans too if you have the time. For our major project we could code in whatever we wanted too, so that was good.

3) The book by Sam Davis - http://www.pedc.com.au/
That's the best book. Carole Wilson also has a book out by Cambridge Press, I've only looked properly at the option topic in it though. Old 3U books might be of use, as some of the things covered were in the old course.

Winston

HSC
im starting yr 12 this yr
sdd for me well i guess was average algorthms screwed me up
i was a newbie in programming but i survived i did pretty good in the prelim but i do think that if u learn vb and know most of it youll survive pretty well
becoz