• YOU can help the next generation of students in the community!
    Share your trial papers and notes on our Notes & Resources page

studying Chinese at Uni? (1 Viewer)

N.U.G.

HSC
hey guys,

if someone wanted to do a course to really learn about Chinese langgue, culture and maybe even history... can that be done at Uni? any advice?

neo o

it's coming to me...
HSC
N.U.G. said:
hey guys,

if someone wanted to do a course to really learn about Chinese langgue, culture and maybe even history... can that be done at Uni? any advice?
Yeah of course, I studied Chinese for 6 months at the ANU under a B Asian Studies, though as santa said, you could study Chinese/Chinese history at pretty much any university. However, since ANU has the asian studies degree (and an asian studies faculty) I think that you'd be pretty safe in assuming that they would have a larger range of histories and other arts type subjects relevant to what you're interested in.

At ANU Chinese in your first year is double weighted, which means that it's worth 12 credit points (or half a full load of 24) and is quite alot of work. If you're doing a combined degree, Chinese will be the only Asian Studies course that you'll be able to do in your first year.

If you've got any general questions about ANU I'd be happy to answer them for you :p

santaslayer

HSC
neo_o said:
Yeah of course, I studied Chinese for 6 months at the ANU under a B Asian Studies, though as santa said, you could study Chinese/Chinese history at pretty much any university. However, since ANU has the asian studies degree (and an asian studies faculty) I think that you'd be pretty safe in assuming that they would have a larger range of histories and other arts type subjects relevant to what you're interested in.