• Want to help us with this year's BoS Trials?
    Let us know before 30 June. See this thread for details
  • Looking for HSC notes and resources?
    Check out our Notes & Resources page

Supermarket fun (1 Viewer)

^___^
HSC
ok, i work as a nightfill boy and i was wondering about a thing or two.

Say i was doing my shift, and while i was working, i see this person (he/she was shopping as his/her trolley was filled with items) walking towards the drink fridge. He/she then opens the fridge and takes a bottle of coke out and starts drinking from it within the store. Then he/she puts the bottle of coke(only drank a bit) into his/her trolley and continued her shopping.

Is she "stealing", cos he/she already consumed the product without paying. Or is that allowed since he/she has the intention of paying later.

Meldrum

Banned
HSC
Fair enough, I may not be a law student, but what I was taught during my induction at Action was that the transference of ownership from company to customer is at the point of sale. Therefore, by using a disposable product before they buy it is stealing.

However, many Australians accept the practise as we're dumb and encourageable.

Please correct me if I'm wrong.

melsc

Premium Member
HSC
... said:
Is she "stealing", cos he/she already consumed the product without paying. Or is that allowed since he/she has the intention of paying later.
Disclaimer... i am a wanna be law student so whatever I say doesnt have much legal merit...put whatever weight upon it you wish

From what I have learnt about Larceny is that intent to permanently deprive the owner of the item must be established R v Easom (Where the defendant returned the item and successfully argued that he did not intend to permanently deprive the owner of the item)

As the person would have the intention to pay for it, it wouldn't be a case of "stealing"...there may be some other legal principle...I dont know though