The Inadequacy of PEAL & Other Paragraph Structures (1 Viewer)

antickie

HSC
Hi everyone, my name is Anqi. I recently from medical school and will spend a year away from medicine to pursue my passions in high school english education. I have been teaching high school English for almost 7 years now. I've been floating around BOS partly to see what questions students want answered to constantly update class materials and partly to see if there are any questions I can help answer.

Cutting to the chase, I know a lot of students are taught PEAL, PETAL, STEEL etc for their essay structures but often for some reason structure is still something they struggle with. There are some threads which share the structures students have been taught but I personally believe there are inadequacies in a lot of these structures.

PEAL, PETAL, STEEL and other acronyms tend to be paragraph structures. By that I mean they tell you how to structure essay from topic sentence to concluding sentence. What is neglected is how to structure the quote analysis itself.

For example, if I translate PEAL into what they actually represent in the english essay:
Point - TOPIC SENTENCE
Evidence - QUOTE
Analysis - EXPLAIN QUOTE
Link - CONCLUSION SENTENCE

Ok fine, fair. But how many quotes do I use? Do I use a linking sentence for every quote I use? How do I start using the quote????

It's helpful for the essay beginner but as essays become more conceptually complex, more order is often needed to help with structural clarity.

What is needed is a structure for every quote/sub-point that is to be used. Let me introduce you to a friend of mine:

👨‍🦲PETE 👨‍🦲

👨‍🦲
sub-POINT
👨‍🦲 EXAMPLE (quote)
👨‍🦲 TECHNIQUE
👨‍🦲 EXPLAIN/EFFECT