(urgent) Actuarial Studies Questions (1 Viewer)

kranqualizer

HSC
Your help is needed. Because the main round closing date is in two weeks and i am very lost..

1. Which uni has the best employment opportunity for an actuarian?? (macquarie, usyd or unsw)

i am hearing macquarie from macquarie graduates (maybe biased) however usyd/unsw seem more prestigious

2. What may be the difference between these uniz' actuarial studies course? The uai cut-off at macquarie (96.00) is much higher than usyd/unsw (93.00). Do they learn the exact same things?

3. Is 4U vital in actuarial studies? I am a 3U student. Will it affect my learning in a significant way (... it may take me much more time to grasp the concepts??)

thankyou!

rubin

HSC
I am not an acturial student so my comment may not be as valid. But i do know that historically, Macqaurie definately has the best reputation for acturaial studies. As with most courses, 'reputation' does not necessarily mean it will be a superior course to others. It depends on your preferences. Also, I think 4U is recommnended but not essential. I don't think missing 4U maths will be that big a disadvantage - acturaial studies is just plain hard regardless (or so iv'e heard)

blackfriday

Pezzonovante
HSC
i did actuary for six weeks before dropping out due to boredom (and of course, lack of intelligence). i would say club mac is a better place to go because its the oldest course, and looking at what they do, it seems a little easier than at unsw. but unsw is more flexible, and its not such a big deal if you need to drop out of actuary.

in any sort of maths-based major, 4u maths is a huge advantage to have beforehand. if you got 48+/50 in 3u you should manage actuary alright though.

turtleface

HSC
kranqualizer said:
1. Which uni has the best employment opportunity for an actuarian?? (macquarie, usyd or unsw)