• Want to take part in this year's BoS Trials event for Maths and/or Business Studies?
    Click here for details and register now!
  • YOU can help the next generation of students in the community!
    Share your trial papers and notes on our Notes & Resources page

Vacationer Programs and Penultimate (1 Viewer)

sunjet

Hip-Hop Saved My Life
HSC
Since my degree is 4 years (Commerce/Economics Combined) my penultimate year is not until next year, however is it still possible to apply this year if I can complete all my Commerce (Accounting/Finance) subjects by the end of the third year, ie. finish my commerce degree?

seremify007

HSC
Uni Grad
JFK said:
Even if you weren't gonna finish all your Commerce subjects by the end of the 3rd year, you'd still be smart to apply. They just want to get good people in there, they don't care what stage you're at.

Hell, I knew a guy who got into a vacation program after his 1st year at uni.
Was that guy a CA Achiever? And did he tell them that he wouldn't finish in one years time?

I know of people who apply under the "I'm planning to finish my Commerce degree in 1 year" guise but unless there's potential for you to start graduate employment in the intake within the year after your vacation, I think you might run the risk of harming your reputation.

seremify007

HSC
Uni Grad
JFK said:
Nah, that's complete BS.

I did Vacation work with multiple people who weren't finishing the following year, some where Law/Commerce students who weren't finishing for a few years, others were 1st year or 2nd year of a 4 year degree.

If you're straight up with them, and say "I want as much experience as possible before I finish my degree blah blah blah" they don't care if you're not gonna finish the following year. As I said, they want GOOD people, regardless of what stage they're at.