website / web hosting options: advice needed (1 Viewer)

N.U.G.

HSC
hey guys,

I'm interested in having a real basic website made and I'm looking for advice in choosing a web host as I'm totally new to this.

Things I need/want;
- my own doman e.g. www.nugproductioncs.com
- my own email address e.g. nug@nugproductions.com

shiiit, that's all I can really think of... if anyone has any advice about other features I need to consider it would be good.

A free web option would be dope but if I have to pay a lil something then that's cool too...

holla

sunny

meh.
HSC
If you want your own domain name, you'll most likely have to pay. You can probably shop around yourself, but I'm with these guys: http://www.mdwebhosting.com.au/

Pay upfront $10 a month and best part is the domain name gets thrown in for free.

N.U.G.

HSC
^^^

thanks for the info.

just another questions, if I decided not to have a website and I just wanted the email address of nug@nugproductions.com, would that involve registering a domain name or would there be another option?

i'm thinking I may just be able to use Soundclick or MySpace as a free and easy website option but I do really want my own specific email address

any suggestions?

thanks

anti

aww.. baby raccoon ^^
HSC
If you want your own domain email, you'll need to own the domain, but you don't need to pay for hosting - you can set it to forward your email to your current email address.

If you're only looking for space, check with your ISP because they may offer you webspace as part of your connection.

If you purchase webhosting, you have a range of features to choose from. Some are more technical than others and of course some are more expensive than others - I currently pay about $50/yr + $15/yr for an extra domain.

sunny

meh.
HSC