what do you think of my subjects? biology or economics? or..? (1 Viewer)

anjalika9923

HSC
hey, i'm a year 10 student and i'm choosing subject selection soon i'm gonna be doing
3u maths
3u eng
chemistry
french
either bio or eco

my 2 reserves will be whatever is left out of bio/eco and 5th legal. i plan on becoming someone that works in the medical field, maybe optometry or dentistry. does this look good?

bio and eco pros and cons, i've heard both are very content heavy and eco you have to write essays which i am absolutely dog s*** at but the stuff is kinda interesting and i feel like it'll be cool to know in everyday life and make connections to stuff (which is why i chose french). bio is just a LOT of learning (and frankly i dont even know if i should be taking it with chem) but the concepts are easy to understand apparently? the past hsc papers are also like pretty interesting too but the teachers at our school for bio aren't that good and the yr 11 course sounds soooo boring so the teacher + course in yr 11 (cells, organisms idk) is literally gonna make me fall asleep BUT the yr 12 course definitely sounds a lot better (we learn about diseases and stuff). eco also scales better than bio apparently and i have a smart friend who's doing eco who i'm hoping can help me understand stuff if i don't get it but in bio, i have no friends that i can ask for help. i should also mention that i have absolutely ZERO political knowledge which i feel like if i did, would help me in eco? like idk anything about stock market or anything so...and i also never took any subjects to do with eco, i.e. no commerce or business studies or any elective humanities.

thank you!

jazz519

HSC
Uni Grad
If you are planning to do some medical field based thing then you probably have to do some biology subjects at uni, which would probably be helpful to know stuff before hand, so thats a potential reason to choose biology.