What makes english extension 1 good/bad and do you recommend doing it? (1 Viewer)

jessesgirl

HSC
I'm choosing subjects in a few days and I really like the content of Extension 1, I am a good student but I don't have a very good understanding of what the course is really like, coupled with advanced english, modern history, society and culture, legal, etc. I'm not doing any science and may/may not be doing any maths. What is the work load like?

grapess

HSC
Hi!

What is the course like - well essentially it is studying a range of texts (usually of different mediums) with the same focus point. In yr 11 our 'module' was revenge and we studied Medea (play), Wuthering Heights (novel) and The Brave One (film), focusing on the concept of revenge for each text. You will then have around 4-5 tasks (we had a creative (in-class), analytical response (hand in), essay (half-yearly), a speech and then an essay+creative for finals).

I'm doing Romanticism now in yr 12 and tbh the workload is so much less than advanced because you basically write your essay+creative for half-yearlies and just keep editing them until HSC. In a way, this makes the course easier than advanced because you have the entire length of the course to develop the skills/ideas required to approach each text.
Of course you'll have other assessments (such as speeches or visual presentations) in between your half-yearlies, trials and HSC but those tasks should be manageable (and will generally be less demanding than assessments from other subjects). If your school has dedicated teachers that are willing to teach you each text properly, and possibly provide you with various articles/notes on your texts, you should find the course enjoyable (assuming English is your strong point)