• YOU can help the next generation of students in the community!
    Share your trial papers and notes on our Notes & Resources page

work trial help! (1 Viewer)

paper cup

pamplemousse
HSC
I have one tomorrow. I've heard a lot of stuff about how there is 'no such thing' as an unpaid work trial but I'm going to do it anyway - it's only for a few hours, so it's probably not illegal + boss = migrant, probably not aware of laws anyway...

So anyone have any suggestions - it's a cafe place. I've never worked before :/ and I don't know very much about waitressing - I'm hoping to bluff my way through.

HSC
if youre there for just a trial and dont know anything, just focus on clearing and cleaning tables and taking the odd order.

if you have a touch screen, just write down the orders on a pad and hand it to other staff for them to put in, coz if it gets busy, they dont want to wait 10 minutes for you to find the 'flat white' button and then another 5 for the 'skim' button...i know this first hand :eek:

other tips:
- be friendly with customers...your 'heyyaz, cyaz, thank yaz..etc etc.'
- ask if they want anything else once youve picked up their empty coffee mug
- be sure you have ample sugar thingys in the sugar holders
- some customers may have different names for different coffees..eg muggacino = large cappacino, short black = espresso, skinny = skim milk

so yeah, just try to look relaxed (but not tooo relaxed or theyll think youre bludging) instead of tense and nervousy...

PS. ill be quiting mine soon :D..take THAT you homofag of a manager!
hooray for liquorland!!

Last edited:

Skittled

What did the crab do?
HSC
cherryblossom said:
boss = migrant, probably not aware of laws anyway..
Not to throw a spanner in your enthusiasm-works, but I'd be worried already if I got that impression, considering you might have to deal long-term with these people... :eek: