2005 Major Work: PHP? (1 Viewer)

chensta

HSC
N/A
Hey everybody, first post here. I am getting ideas for my year 12 major work, and I have thought about programming in PHP. I am thinking about making a online turn based game. The theme will likely be a racing management, ie you buy cars, sell cars, improve your characters skill, and race others. The game will be mainly text, but accompanied by some graphics.

The reason for this are:
1) I am looking to become a webdesigner/graphic designer, and programming in php will help me more than any other languages, for example VB or C, also i have some knowledge of php/mysql.

2) I have an interest in cars/racing, therefore I might find it more enjoyable doing the project. Some guy once said you will do a better job if you enjoy what your doing....or something like that

3) From looking around, there is ALOT of resources on PHP, plus beeing in the webhosting business myself, i have access to servers and various other resources.

The questions I would like to ask is:
1) Have anybody ever programmed a php application for the HSC? Or is there a reason that it is not recommended

2) How the hell am i going to submit this work? I will be submitting documents and the source code on a disc, but it will require a server to run. I could always host on my own servers, but there is the issue of the markers thinking i will be changing the program after the deadline.

Thanks for reading, any comments, advice or suggestions are welcome!

William

sunny

meh.
HSC
Welcome to the forums :)

chensta said:
The questions I would like to ask is:
1) Have anybody ever programmed a php application for the HSC? Or is there a reason that it is not recommended
Keep in mind HSC SDD is not focused on writing the software itself, but on the development process. If you can squeeze enough documentation out of a project then its ok.

chensta said: